Let’s Be Friends

Hello and thank you for visiting my site. I’m not sure what you brought you here. Maybe you heard about my Megachurched project or my upcoming novel A Confused Consciousness. Maybe you were trying to find info on Joel Foster, original settler of River Falls, Wisconsin, or maybe you have a friend named Joe Foster who you wanted to catch up with, but your right pinky finger got a bit excited.

No matter the reason, I’m glad you’re here. I started this site to track my thoughts and writings as I officially embark on my lifelong quest to be a professional writer. Actually that’s not true…it’s my second attempt. After graduating college I had the insane fantasy of rocketing out of school and becoming a hotshot reporter. I would infiltrate the mafia, dodge mortars in Iraq, share high tea with Gordon Brown (at least neither of us made it). But that wasn’t the case. I had absolutely no idea how to begin a freelance career, nevermind sustain it.

Well that was seven years ago. I would like to think I’ve grown up a bit since then (although my Batman sheets tell me otherwise) so I figured I would take another crack at it. I’ve been studying the industry over the years and I feel like I might have found the secret. Want to hear what it is? It’s going to blow your mind…It turns out that in order to be a writer you have to…write…a lot!

Yeah I know, I was shocked too.

Over the past few years I embarked on quite a few long-term writing projects, a few abandoned, some finished, most thrown in my desk drawer after they were done, never to see the light of day again, like an unwanted Christmas present. Maybe it just wasn’t the right time, maybe I knew deep down the stuff I was pumping out wasn’t very good, maybe I just had no confidence.

This sight marks an end to that. I’m officially putting myself out there. Let’s hope I don’t get put back in the corner, my clothes in tatters while I babble incessantly about the mean people trying to steal my brain circuitry.

I’ll be posting projects I’ve been working on, a few of which I’ve set up separate pages for. I’ll also be posting short pieces based on my opinions and random thoughts in my crazy head because, for some reason, people like to read that kind of stuff. I’m trying for at least 2 updates per week, at least to start. If all goes well and I start getting some stuff published, this will hopefully turn into an everyday exercise, like crossfit without all of the vomiting.

Talk soon

One thought on “Let’s Be Friends

Leave a Reply

