The Too Much To Do List

My life is mess…

Maybe I’m exaggerating

What I really mean is that my life has become a multi-tasking nightmare, an unrelenting barrage of “things to do” that never seems to get done.

Just to give you a taste, here was my schedule for last week

Worked 64 hours

Wrote half a chapter of Megachurched book

Typed out three short stories I wrote last year

Tried (and failed) to write a short story for a writing contest that since past

And this is just the writing/working portion of my life. Forget about the day to day stuff. At this point I’m surprised I have clean clothes to wear.

Side Note: I’m going to post some of these previously mentioned short stories once I’ve got some edited and readable. Some are pretty silly, but kind of funny. Others are terrible, but possibly salvagable. Some are pretty good. Ringing endorsement huh? Anyway, I’m hoping to get some feedback from readers if you are so inclined, so stay tuned…

In fact, at the moment, I’m writing this at work, doing an overnight shift at the group home. I don’t mean to complain (although that’s exactly what I’m doing) but I need to vent to someone and today, the internets will have to do.

I get asked a lot how I manage all this stuff without losing my mind. The answer is that I lost my mind years ago, so that’s one less thing I have to worry about. But really, I rely on two things:

1) Momentum- As long as I keep moving, keep working, then I’m good to go. For example, I’m working a 24 hour shift right (that I’m halfway through). Obviously there’s not much going on at the moment, so I decided to write a post to keep me busy. That’s usually how it goes; I’ll work my tail off for hours, not allowing myself to realize how long I’ve been going or how tired I am. Once I’m done with at least a portion of what I intended to do, I shut down like a robot and that’s a wrap. Television, eating, surfing the web, that’s when this goes down. It also helps to not have much of a social life.

2) Hope- I write this blog and I work on these projects because I want to write for a living. It’s what I feel I was born to do. Even if the projects don’t result in anything significant, they’re at least good for practice. In theory, the more you do something, the better you get at it, right? That’s at least what I tell my students, and I’ve come to believe it. Much like someone will eventually hear you if you yell from the rooftop long enough, I’m hoping that something I write will attract someone’s attention and maybe it will lead to something down the line. That’s what keeps me going. That, and lots of iced coffee.

That’s about all I’ve got today. Again I apologize if this felt like yet another internet grumble fest. I’m thankful I have a job in this economy, nevermind three jobs. I’m especially thankful that I have a job such as this, where I get to write a little bit during the off hours.

Someday I hope that I can have a more focused life, write for a living and have that be it. Maybe then I can finally check some things off the  to-do list.

One thought on “The Too Much To Do List

  1. Pingback: Does Scientific Materialism Lead to Materialistic Consumerism?

Leave a Reply

